Amigurumi · Crochet · Patterns

Tiny Kitties

So I adore cats. I think they’re awesome and I want one. Unfortunately, I’m not in a position to adopt one right now….So I made one three.

102_8825
They’re like chess pieces with tails!

I really like the sleek, minimalist design. It has just enough elements to make clear that they are cats, while still being small and quick enough to make that I can easily create a small army.

20170616_141619
The octopus is a size reference.

Not only are these kitties adorable, I actually designed them myself! They were relatively easy and fun to design, although there were a few challenges. The tail especially gave me a lot of trouble. I originally tried to make it a thin tube, but that wound up looking really weird, and a little too fat for cats this tiny. Ultimately, I made the tails just one long row of single crochet, which had the added bonus of naturally curling around itself, giving the tail a little more character.

 

The other problem was in trying to get them to stand up. The proto-cat I made (no pictures, sorry) didn’t stand on it’s own very well, and I didn’t want them to be restricted to lying down or leaning on other, sturdier things. The obvious solution was to give them a flat base—which is how they got their cone-shaped bodies—but that wasn’t quite enough. To make it work, I had to stuff the bodies very loosely, so that the base would lay flat.102_8828

Anyway, here is a PDF of the pattern: Tiny Kitty. If you choose to make one yourself, send me a picture. I’d love to see it! For those that aren’t craft inclined but still want one, you can buy them here. Enjoy!

One thought on “Tiny Kitties

Leave a Reply

