Crochet · Free Patterns · Patterns

Cthulhu French Press Cozy

In his house at R’lyeh, dead Cthulhu waits dreaming…of coffee. Sweet, delicious coffee. I might have a problem.

20170327_130432So, this project came about for a couple of reasons. The first, is that, as I was browsing Ravelry one day about a month ago, I happened upon a multitude of patterns for french press cozies. Owning a french press myself, as they are quite compact and therefore ideal for a dormitory-living college student such as myself, I  was intrigued by the idea of a french press cozy, but rather dissatisfied with the patterns that were lain out before me. As such, I decided to invent a design of my own.

Additionally, I possess a great admiration (although slight lack of knowledge) of the works of one H.P. Lovecraft, and the vast, unfathomable universe he imagined. Naturally, I decided to wed the two ideas, and, naturally, drafted a pattern depicting a simplified image of the mighty Cthulhu.

20170327_130534……………..

Ok, enough with the purple prose.

There were a couple of challenges that came along with this. For one thing, my french press isn’t all that big, so I wound up using a tiny, 1.8 mm hook just so I could fit the design in. The other problem is more inherent to colorwork in general—if I carried the yarn I wasn’t using behind the one I was, it would inevitably show through, muddying up the design. To fixed this, I decided to abandon the idea of carrying my yarn behind my stitches when I was working on the back, instead simply dropping it and picking it back up when I needed the color again. This did make the back of the piece a little messy, so I lined it with felt to cover it up20170327_130655.

Additionally, I used a series of bobbins with the green. One on each side of the border, and one for each Cthulhu. The Crochet Crowd has a great tutorial on this technique, that I’d highly suggest checking out. It’s nestled in the middle of a giant comprehensive tutorial on how to crochet a graphghan, but they start talking about bobbins at about the 11:30 mark. Here’s a link to the website, the tutorial video is near the bottom.

Here’s a link to the pattern: Cthulhu-french-press-cozy. It is completely free. If you do make something with it, please share a picture, I’d love to see. Until next time. Cthulhu f’htagn!

Leave a Reply

