Candy Color Hat and Gloves

 

102_8653

Incidentally, that’s me in the picture. This is what I look like.

Hello all! It’s mid January, and as it happens, today is the first day of a brand new semester. So, naturally, I’m sharing something that I made back in December that is only tangentially related to my college experience.

 

I go to school in New Orleans, which doesn’t normally get very cold, even in winter (right now, for instance, it’s a comfortable 77 degrees outside). However, in December this year the temperature dipped down into the 30s and stayed there for an unusually long length of time. I, not expecting the cold, did not actually own a hat or gloves at the time, but I did have a large supply of yarn (as always). So, I found a pattern and set to work.

The patterns I found came from the Moogly blog and are here and here for the hat and gloves respectively. They are called the Ups and Downs Slouchy Beanie and Fingerless Gloves. Go check them out, they’re pretty neat. I especially like the raised braids around the rim of the hat and the base of the gloves.102_8654

The yarn I used was from Red Heart Boutique’s Unforgettable series, which is arguably my favorite selection of yarn of all time ever. The color I used is called Candied, and I love how the soft, pastel colors lazily melt into one another. I love when multicolored yarns have long, individual patches of colors so the resulting pieces end up striped instead of covered in chaotic speckles. I also like that, by a happy accident, the gloves ended up with opposite colors on the top and bottom. In all, this was a fun pattern to make, and I successfully found a way to keep warm in the unusually cold winter.

Leave a Reply

