Coasters · Crochet · Marvel · Patterns · Superheroes

Black Widow Coasters

100_8141If you’re one of the two people who have been following this blog, you may have noticed that I like making sets of things. The lone matoki post has that ominous “Part 1” on it, and this is the third Avengers themed coaster in three months. So, yes, it’s official. I am making a set of Avengers Coasters. Yay!

This particular set came about as an exercise in pattern making. These coasters are some of the first designs I’ve ever made myself, and the first designs I have written patterns about. (Except the Captain America coasters. Those were made from someone else’s pattern.) This is as much an exercise in learning to write good patterns as it is in making small, superhero themed motifs.

That’s also why Black Widow came third instead of, say, Thor.In addition to being a bad-ass female super spy, Black Widow has a symbol that is relatively easy to fit inside a circle. Incidentally, the pattern for this coaster can be found on Ravelry, which is where I will be posting all of my patterns from now on. Usually before they end up on the blog. (Here’s the direct link to the pattern.)

So, in sum, you’re going to be seeing a lot of these over the next few months. I leave you now with a picture of the first half of the set, and hope you will bear with me while I finish the other three.

100_8142

Leave a Reply

